previous article
next article
Passengers from these countries can travel to Dubai despite entry visa suspension
(World News) 4 years ago

Emirates airline also denied social media reports that it is planning to suspend all flights from March 17


On Saturday, March 14, the UAE announced that it would suspend the issuance of all visas to foreigners with effect from Tuesday, March 17, as a precautionary measure to contain the spread of the Covid-19 coronavirus pandemic.


However, on March 15, Dubai Airports issued a statement on its website clarifying that there will be exemptions to the rule.



It said that the issuance of entry visas will not be suspended for the passport holders of the following countries: Australia, Austria, Belgium, Brunei, Bulgaria, Canada, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hong Kong, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy (from Rome only), Japan, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malaysia, Malta, Monaco, Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, San Marino, Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia, South Korea, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, The Vatican, United Kingdom and The United States of America.


The suspension of entry visas also does not apply to diplomatic passport holders or those who have had visas issued prior to March 17.

Eligible passengers can continue to travel to and from the UAE, though may be subject to additional screening.


The statement said that all passengers arriving at Dubai International airport (DXB) would be subject to non-intrusive thermal scanning, although those arriving from Italy (Rome), Lebanon, China (Beijing), Syria and Thailand would be subject to additional thermal screenings and nasal swabs, carried out by the Dubai Health Authority.

The statement added that all scheduled passenger flights to and from the following countries from Dubai have been temporarily suspended until further notice:

• Bahrain
• Iraq (effective as of March 17)
• Islamic Republic of Iran
• Italy, except for Rome
• Kingdom of Saudi Arabia
• Kuwait
• Lebanon (effective as of March 17)
• People’s Republic of China, except for Beijing
• Syria (effective as of March 17)
• Turkey (effective as of March 17)

All passengers departing on passenger flights from DXB bound for destinations in the United States will also undergo thermal screening.


Emirates Airline who tweeted the statement from Dubai Airports regarding the exemptions to the visa ban, also refuted claims on social media that it was planning to stop all flights from March 17.


Saudi Arabia has suspended all international flights to and from the kingdom from March 15 for a period of two weeks.


Kuwait too initiated the suspension of all commercial flights from March 13 for a period of two weeks.

source : gulfbusiness

O1NE Yas Island
Arts & Entertainment · Night Club
O1NE Yas Island Nightclub.Located on Yas Island in Abu Dhabi - United Arab Emiratesread more
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
09 901 701 - 70 50 40 04
view map
White Dubai
The ultimate club
WHITE, the ultimate chic playground for upscale party-goers in Beirut is now at Dubai at the Meydan Racecourse Grandstan... read more
Meydan Racecourse Grandstand Rooftop,Nad Al S
09 901 701 - 70 50 40 04
view map
Eden Beach Club
Whats Your Sin
From sunrise to sunset, escape the city to EDEN Beach Club and disconnect from the outside world. Relax on a sun bed or ... read more
Palm Island
09 901 701 - 70 50 40 04
view map
40 Kong
One Sheikh Zayed Road
40 Kong, the distinct addition to Dubai's nightlife, is an outdoor rooftop cocktail lounge and restaurant, located on On... read more
Address: The H Dubai, 40th Floor, One Sheikh
09 901 701 - 70 50 40 04
view map